The Honorable John C. Pritzlaff Conservation Award

The Honorable John C. Pritzlaff Conservation Award is given annually by the Santa Barbara Botanic Garden to recognize achievements in conservation both in California and around the world. Established in 2007, the award honors John Pritzlaff’s life-long commitment to conservation and serves to inspire others to understand the importance of conservation, take action, and help the Santa Barbara Botanic Garden reach its plant conservation leadership goals.

image of the Honorable John C. PritzlaffJohn C. Pritzlaff was a Botanic Garden Trustee from 1991 – 2003. He was a life-long servant and champion of the people and the environment. His political, personal, and volunteer activities speak clearly to his love of the environment and his desire to ensure that our greatest treasure – our natural environment – remains healthy for future generations. John recognized that botanic gardens are powerful agents for conservation. Individually and collectively, botanic gardens address a range of activities needed to help ensure the survival of threatened plant species.

SBBG Annual Conservation Symposium


image of Dr. Claire KremenDr. Claire Kremen
Department of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management at U.C. Berkeley

Claire is a conservation biologist that seeks "mechanisms for slowing or preventing the loss of biodiversity…one of the greatest environmental challenges facing humanity in the 21st century." She has tackled this issue both by protecting biodiverse areas in preserves, and by identifying and conserving the species that are most beneficial to humans.


image of Bruce Pavlik, Ph.D., 2013 Pritzlaff Conservation Award HonoreeDr. Bruce Pavlik
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Dr. Pavlik is Head of Restoration Ecology at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. Since receiving his Ph.D. in Botany in 1982, he has been a long-time instructor at institutions both academic and government, from Mills College to the National Park Service Training Program, as well as vice president of the California Native Plant Society and series editor of the California Natural History Guide Series.


image of Dr. Daniel BotkinDr. Daniel Botkin
President, Center for the Study of the Environment
UCSB Emeritus Professor & Author

The Moon in the Nautilus Shell by Daniel Botkin


image of A Manual of California Vegetation book coverDr. John Sawyer
Todd Keeler-Wolf
Julie Evens
Authors of A Manual of California Vegetation


image of Peter Wyse Jackson, Salud Carbajal, J.R. HallerDr. Peter Wyse Jackson
Director, National Botanical Gardens of Ireland
President, Missouri Botanical Garden

Dr. J. Robert Haller
UCSB Professor of Botany (Retired)
Santa Barbara Botanic Garden Botanist


image of Jon and Lillian Lovelace at SBBGJon and Lillian Lovelace
Chairman Emeritus, Capital Research Management Company

Dr. Brian J. Huntley
Senior Policy Advisor, South African Department of Environmental Affairs & Tourism


Steven McCormick
President, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation

Richard B. Rogers
President, California Fish & Game Commission
Chairman, State of California Wildlife Conservation Board
Vice Chair, SBBG Board of Trustees


image of Peter Raven wearing his Pritzlaff Conservation medal in 2007Dr. Peter Raven
President, Missouri Botanical Garden